October 2010: Return of the Native.

After a fantastic trip to Italy, Slovenia and Croatia, with its accompanying ups and downs, I returned to Wetherby to search for another catering related role. I insinuated myself to Jason and Kate’s on Saturday night one week and one day after stepping from the plane at Birmingham International Airport. It always feels nice to be the oulde towne after long self imposed exile – 5 months.

I went out on Friday in the decreasingly unimportant pub-life of Wetherby (The town lost its monthly cattle market long ago and Thursday Market hasn’t any greengrocers, but numerous clothing vendors); the night left me still in high spirits. On Saturday night I saw both Richard and Jason, and went back to Jason and Katherine‘s to watch the Rugby, drink wine (a Cono Sur Pinot Noir and a Wolf Blass Yellow Label Shiraz) and consume cheese (boring Morrison’s Gruyere and lovely creamy Saint Agur)

It doesn’t surprise me at all that I had another dreadful hangover on Sunday after a throwing up at around midnight: the first bout I’ve had since I ventured into Ilfracombe and drank too much vodka back in July. One shouldn’t mix cider with cheese and wine I guess.

Since stepping off the bus in Wetherby I’ve had three chef trials for Franco proprietor of Sant’ Angelo’s. The head chef, Filippo Pagani, was in attendance on Tuesday and I think he feels I have potential? He was a very interesting chef to watch and had a style similar to my previous chef in Padstow, Cornwall. I assume the pasta section of an Italian restaurant would always follow the same organisation and procedure. There was a CdP from Albania who demonstrated his excellent knife skills, with one of the largest Chef’s knife I think I’ve ever seen, and he was also a very skilful pizza chef too. It surprised me to see there were actually two English chefs in the restaurant. If Franco calls me perhaps I can learn a lot here?

This week I have been trying to track down a girl I once knew back at the University of Northumbria. The Alumni department there helped and they promised to forwards my details to her in Canada and see whether she wants to correspond with me. Victoria Jolley are you there? How is life?
I think this interest was sparked by a Facebook update from my old university mate Ben Marr who has found the face of sorrow in a Mushroom !

I found a plaque under Wetherby bridge that purports to suggest that the original building of the bridge allowed sinners to be absolved. Snoops was in fine form today swimming thoroughly in the Wharfe and we managed to scare all of the Mallard’s into the river!

Good to be back!

Leave a Reply

